Foundation History

The Tehzibul Akhlaq Background


After the Indian War of Independence of 1857, the great reformer Sir Syed Ahmad Khan visited Europe to observe their educational system with the eventual objective of improving and developing the socio-economic conditions of the Muslims of the sub-continent through education.

During his visit he came across reputed journals such as Tattler, Spectator and Guardian and was deeply impressed by the articles related to social progress. Realising this as a step towards the progress he envisioned for the Sub Continent, Sir Syed Ahmad Khan decided to bring out a journal for the welfare and social development of the Muslims. Inspired by Ibne Khazin Razi’s famous book, the journal was named “Tehzibul Akhlaq”. The first copy of Tehzibul Akhlaq was circulated on 24th December 1870. This journal became the founding stone of the Mohammedan Anglo Oriental College in 1877 and ultimately the Aligarh Muslim University in 1920.

Creating the Tehzibul Akhlaq Trust (TAT)

After the creation of Pakistan some members of the alumni of Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) called Aligs, settled in Lahore, realised that the need for carrying forward the Mission of Sir Syed Ahmad Khan was still equally necessary. In September 1960 late Mr. Mehboob Alam discussed his idea with other Alig alumni and some philanthropists. Later in a meeting on 8th January 1961 the Tehzibul Akhlaq Trust came into being. Mr. Mehboob Alam along with stalwarts like Mian Muhammad Shafi, Syed Hashmi Faridabadi, Mr. Jari Ahmad Syed, Mr. Abad Ahmad Khan, Mr. Habib Ahmad Ali and Mr. Aneesuddin Ansari were the pioneering team.

Mian Muhammad Shafi was chosen to be the first President whereas Syed Hashmi Faridabadi was its first Secretary. The Tehzibul Akhlaq Trust was finally registered on 31st January 1961 under the Societies Registration Act 1860.

Since then other Presidents and Secretaries who passionately carried forward this mission, included stalwart pillars of the community such as: Justice Maulvi Mushtaq Hussain, Mr. Rana Abdul Hameed, Syed Rasheed Ahmed Bokhari, Justice Anwarul Haq, Syed Masood ul Hassan Zaidi, Nawab Mushtaq Ahmad Khan, Col. Khalil Ullah Qureshi, Mr. Shah Navaz K. Mallic, Rana Safdar Jang, Chaudry Abdul Hameed, Mr. Abdur Rehman, Mr. S.A. Mannan and Mr. G.M. Sabri. The latter was the longest living member and having served the Trust for over 40 years. These pioneers of TAT are no longer with us but their spirit and enthusiasm lives on.

Please click here to meet our team

Our Foundation

Following the Sir Syed Ahmad Khan’s footsteps and in furtherance of his mission, alumni of Aligarh Muslim University along with other philanthropists formed a Trust in 1961 by the name of “Tehzibul Akhlaq Trust”.

Our Mission

To provide accessible quality education for individual growth, socio-economic development and nation building.

The TAT Interests

Presently the Trust is running two higher secondary schools in and around Lahore and started its B.Sc. Computer Science classes from September 2014, under affiliation from University of Engineering & Technology Lahore.

In addition the Trust is regularly publishing a monthly journal by the name of “Tehzibul Akhlaq” since 1961.

Contact Officials

G.A. Sabri - President TAT
Brig. (Rtd) - Farogh Uddin Anjum Honorary Secretary General TAT
Rizwan Ahmed Siddiqi - President TAT USA